Bootsy Collins Returns With World Wide Funk

Bootsy CollinsBootsy Collins Returns With World Wide Funk

Featured guests include Victor Wooten, Buckethead and Chuck D

By David Sands
September 1, 2017

It’s been awhile — six years to be exact — but Bootsy Collins is bringing the funk once again with a new recording that will be out this fall. The legendary bass-playing musician and singer-songwriter, perhaps best known for his work with James Brown and Parliament-Funkadelic, has pulled forth 15 new tracks from the primordial cosmic oneness and assembled them into a new album he’s calling World Wide Funk.

Mascot Records bills his follow-up to 2011’s Tha Funk Capital of the World as embracing “everything from the classic P-Funk sound Bootsy pioneered to the closest Collins has ever come to radio-active, boots on the ground, friendly fire in a musical-P-rated-adventure.”

Recorded at his Cincinnati Bootzilla Re-hab home studio, World Wide Funk features guest appearances by an eclectic group that includes Victor Wooten, Dennis Chambers, Big Daddy Kane, Chuck D, Doug E. Fresh and Buckethead as well as a “Bootsy-curated posse of fresh new artists.” Bootsy’s late P-Funk bandmate Dr. Bernie Worrell, who passed away in 2016, also turns up in a tribute called “Hey Bernie” that makes use of several tracks the famous keyboardist recorded in the early 2000s.

Curious what Collins has in store for you? You can get a taste right now by checking out the first track he’s released, “Worth My While (feat. Kali Uchis).” (LISTEN BELOW.)

“The whole concept,” Collins says of the new album, “was not only about playing music or being current on this album, but about teaching people how to funk for themselves so they can bring some funk to get some. We bring them hope like dope, so not one Funkateer chokes.”

Set for an Oct. 27 release, World Wide Funk will available in 2 LP Vinyl set with MP3, CD and digital formats.

1. World Wide Funk (feat. Doug E. Fresh, Buckethead & Alissia Benveniste)
2. Bass-Rigged-System (feat. Victor Wooten, Stanley Clarke, Manou Gallo, Alissia Benveniste & World-Wide-Funkdrive)
3. Pusherman (feat. Dru Down, BlvckSeeds , Mr. Talkbox)
4. Thera-P (feat. Tyshawn Colquitt & Alissia Benveniste)
5. Hot Saucer (feat. Musiq Soulchild & Big Daddy Kane)
6. Heaven Yes
7. Ladies Nite (feat. MC Eiht & BlvckSeeds)
8. Candy Coated Lover (feat. X-Zact, Kali Uchis & World-Wide-Funkdrive)
9. Snow Bunny (feat. Tyshawn Colquitt, Snowbunny & World-Wide-Funkdrive)
10. Hi-On-Heels (feat. October London)
11. A Salute To Bernie (feat. Dr. G. Bernie Worrell)
12. Boomerang (feat. Justin Johnson)
13. Worth My While (feat. Kali Uchis)
14. Come Back Bootsy (feat. Eric Gales, Dennis Chambers & World-Wide-Funkdrive)
15. Illusions (feat. Chuck D, Buckethead & BlvckSeeds)

Album: World Wide Funk
Artist: Bootsy Collins
Label: Mascot Records
Release Date: October 27, 2017

Related stories:

Bootsy Collins

Something New From Bootsy Collins

FBPO Video Interview With Freekbass

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Please enter the CAPTCHA text