Cheap Trick reveals “We’re All Alright” release

Tom PeterssonCheap Trick reveals We’re All Alright release

Tom Petersson: “We’ve got a lot of material”

By David Sands
May 5, 2017

Cheap Trick has been on a heck of a roll lately… and it doesn’t look like they’ll be slowing down anytime soon. In what’s sure to be welcome news for their fans, dates have been announced for the group’s upcoming album and tour.

Their new album We’re All Alright is scheduled to come out June 16 through Big Machine Records. It’ll be available in both the standard 10-track version and a deluxe version with three bonus tracks, including their cover of The Move’s “Blackberry Way.” The album’s title is a sly reference their 1978 hit “Surrender” as well as 2001’s “That 70s Song.” Produced by Julian Raymond, who’s worked with them on several of their recent albums, We’re All Alright features a blend of new material and older unreleased songs like “She’s Alright” and “Radio Lover.” The recording’s hard rocking debut single “Long Time Coming” was revealed by Billboard last week (LISTEN BELOW).

As we noted earlier, Cheap Trick has been on fire lately. On April 1 of last year,  they released Bang, Zoom, Crazy… Hello, their first new studio album since 2009’s The Latest. Then a week later,  they followed that up with a Rock and Roll Hall of Fame induction and performance on April 8. Their upcoming release of We’re All Alright marks the first time in over two decades that Cheap Trick has released back-to-back albums in consecutive years.

In a recent appearance on the Barstool Rockers podcast, bassist Tom Petersson said the increased pace comes at the urging of their record label, Big Machine, which wants them to release an album a year going forward.

“We’ve got a lot of material. We’re working on stuff all the time. We love to record,” he said. “It’s fine with us. When we started we used to do two albums a year, so an album a year? Piece of cake!”

Besides their new album, Cheap Trick also has a ton of shows lined up. They’ll be playing the Big Fresno Fair in Fresno, California on May 20, several shows in Europe this June and a big U.S. tour from July 11 to Sept. 9 with Foreigner and Jason Bonham’s Led Zeppelin Experience.

We’re All Alright Track Listing
1. You Got It Going On
2. Long Time Coming
3. Nowhere
4. Radio Lover
5. Lolita
6. Brand New Name On An Old Tattoo
7. Floating Down
8. She’s Alright
9. Listen To Me
10. The Rest Of My Life

Deluxe Extra Tracks
11. Blackberry Way
12. Like A Fly
13. If You Still Want My Love

Album: We’re All Alright
Artist: Cheap Trick
Release Date: June 16, 2017
Label: Big Machine

Related Stories:

FBPO interview with Tom Petersson

Tom Petersson thrilled about Hall of Fame Induction
rock and roll hall of fame

Bassists represented well at 2015 Rock Hall induction
  • 18

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Please enter the CAPTCHA text