Grateful Dead releases live anniversary sets

Greatful DeadGrateful Dead releases live anniversary sets

30 Trips Around the Sun offers fresh look back

By David Sands
September 29, 2015

The Grateful Dead’s “Fare Thee Well” reunion shows may now be a thing of the past, but fans looking to reminisce about the band’s glory days can still get their hands on the new 50th anniversary 4-CD set commemorating the band’s legendary live shows.

The new compilation, “30 Trips Around the Sun: The Definitive Live Story 1965-1995,” brings together a special collection of performances encompassing the group’s entire 30-year career. It was released on Sept. 18.

Each track focuses on a song from different live show for every year between 1966 and 1995. The collection also includes the song “Caution (Do Not Stop On Tracks)” from the Grateful Dead’s first recording session in 1965. In addition to this, Grateful Dead devotee Jesse Jarnow contributes a heat-felt essay that takes a special look at each of the featured songs.

The 4-CD set is actually a sampler companion to a more massive limited edition box set called “30 Trips around the Sun,” which features 30 complete unreleased live concerts from 1966 to 1995. That doozy of a collection comes in a 80-CD physical box set and a 128-GB USB-drive digital version.

Grateful Dead archivist David Lemieux, who helped gather the material for the collections, says the effort represents an “unprecedented” overview of the band’s career.

“Our first criterion was the very best live music to represent any given year in the band’s history,” he says in a statement on the band’s website. “We wanted to make sure that there were not only the tent-pole shows that fans have been demanding for decades but also ones that are slightly more under the radar, but equally excellent.”

The physical box set comes with a 288-page book with a career-spanning essay by Grateful Dead scholar Nicholas Meriwether and a scroll featuring a visual representation of the band’s evolution. Fans who buy the USB-drive get a digital version of the companion book on their flash drive. The collection will be available in October, though it’s important to note that the 80-CD set is already sold out. The digital version can still be ordered for around $700 on the Grateful Dead’s site.

The 4-CD set retails at a more modest $44.98 and is available digitially through iTunes.

Track List

Disc One
1. “Caution (Do Not Stop On Tracks)” – 1965
2. “Cream Puff War” – 1966
3. “Viola Lee Blues” – 1967
4. “Dark Star” – 1968
5. “Doin’ That Rag” – 1969
6. “Dancing In The Street” – 1970
7. “The Rub” – 1971
8. “Tomorrow Is Forever” – 1972
9. “Here Comes Sunshine” – 1973

Disc Two
1. “Uncle John’s Band” – 1974
2. “Franklin’s Tower” – 1975
3. “Scarlet Begonias” – 1976
4. “Estimated Prophet” – 1977
5. “Samson and Delilah” – 1978
6. “Lost Sailor>Saint Of Circumstance” – 1979
7. “Deep Elem Blues” – 1980

Disc Three
1. “Shakedown Street” – 1981
2. “Bird Song” – 1982
3. “My Brother Esau” – 1983
4. “Feel Like A Stranger” – 1984
5. “Let It Grow” – 1985
6. “Comes A Time” – 1986
7. “Morning Dew” – 1987

Disc Four
1. “Not Fade Away” – 1988
2. “Blow Away” – 1989
3. “Ramble On Rose” – 1990
4. “High Time” – 1991
5. “Althea” – 1992
6. “Broken Arrow” – 1993
7. “So Many Roads” – 1994
8. “Visions Of Johanna” – 1995

Title: 30 Trips Around the Sun: The Definitive Live Story 1965-1995
Artist: The Grateful Dead
Release Date: Sept. 18, 2015
Label: The Grateful Dead

Related posts:


Grateful Dead Bows Out In Chicago With "Fare Thee Well" Performances

Oteil Burbridge To Play With Ex-Grateful Dead Crew

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Please enter the CAPTCHA text