Greg Lake Posthumous Live Album Released

Greg LakeGreg Lake Posthumous Live Album Released

Limited Edition Live In Piacenza recording captures Lake’s final tour

By David Sands
December 12, 2017

A new limited-edition live album showcasing the late prog rock icon Greg Lake during his final tour just been released. The album, Live in Piacenza, documents the singer and bassist playing a sold out concert at Teatro Municipale in Piacenza, Italy in November 2012 that was part of his Songs of a Lifetime tour.

Lake, known for his work as a founding member of both Emerson, Lake & Palmer and King Crimson, passed away from cancer last year.

Live in Piacenza features him playing songs from throughout his career, including ELP favorites like “From the Beginning,” King Crimson tunes like “21st Century Schizoid Man” and covers of artists like Elvis Presley and Curtis Mayfield. (SEE TRACK LIST BELOW).

The musician was accompanied during his performance of “Lucky Man,” by the Italian prog rockers Aldo Tagliapietra, Bernardo Lanzetti and Annie Barbazza.

Lake mentioned the Piacenza show in his 2016 memoir Lucky Man, calling it “outstanding” and remarking: “The show at Teatro Municipale was recorded and I decided to release a special collector’s edition of it on vinyl. Somehow the event, the feeling of the music and the atmosphere all seem to be suited to being reproduced in this analogue way.”

Released through Manticore Records, Live in Piacenza is now being sold as a limited release in CD, double-LP vinyl and deluxe box set formats. Fans buying the box set, which numbers just 500 copies, will get a clear vinyl double-LP, gold CD, and special DVD documentary of the the concert, as well as a concert poster, sticker and 10 photo prints.

Live in Piacenza tracklisting:
1. 21st Century Schizoid Man
2. Lend Your Love to Me Tonight
3. From the Beginning
4. Heartbreak Hotel
5. Epitaph/In the Court of the Crimson King
6. I Talk to the Wind
7. You’ve Got to Hide Your Love Away
8. Touch and Go
9. Trilogy/Still…You Turn Me On
10. I Believe in Father Christmas
11. Shakin’ All Over
12. C’est La Vie
13. People Get Ready
14. Lucky Man
15. Karn Evil 9 (1st Impression, Part II)

Title: Live In Piacenza
Artist: Greg Lake
Release date: December 2017
Label: Manticore

Related Stories:

Greg Lake Dead At 69

FBPO Interview With Greg Lake

Greg Lake Calls King Crimson Quirky

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Please enter the CAPTCHA text