Hugh McDonald added to 2018 Rock Hall roster

Hugh McDonaldHugh McDonald added to 2018 Rock Hall roster

Bassist will be inducted alongside other members of Bon Jovi 

By David Sands
December 22, 2017

Looks like the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame is feeling the holiday spirit right now. The Cleveland-based institution has decided to add Bon Jovi’s current bassist, Hugh “Huge” McDonald, to its 2018 induction roster.

McDonald’s association with the band has been a long-running one. He was among the studio musicians that recorded Bon Jovi’s original demo of the 1982 single “Runaway” and has been an unofficial member since bassist Alec John Such left following the release of 1994’s Cross Road. Prior to becoming a regular with Bon Jovi, McDonald played with the David Bromberg Band.

In addition to the last-minute inclusion of McDonald, the Rock Hall has also added Moody Blues co-founder Denny Laine, who played guitar and sang with the band for a brief time during their early days. The institution decided to include them in next year’s induction after an internal review.

“Once the inductees were determined, the members of the Nominating Committee reviewed the list of artists and made the decision to add Denny Laine of The Moody Blues and Hugh McDonald of Bon Jovi to acknowledge their significant contributions,” the Rock Hall said in a statement. “We’re honored to induct them at the ceremony in April.”

The induction ceremony for 2018’s winners will be held April 14 in Cleveland and recorded by HBO for future broadcast.

Related Stories:

John Lodge Among 2018 Rock Hall Inductees

Tim Commerford, RATM on 2018 Rock Hall Ballot

Bon Jovi Holds Opening Act Contest
Jon Liebman

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Please enter the CAPTCHA text