Mike Watt to release Ring Spiel Tour ‘95

bassist Mike WattMike Watt to release Ring Spiel Tour ‘95

Live album features incredible backing band

By David Sands
Oct. 5, 2016

Next month, Mike Watt will offer up a sonic glimpse back to the early days of his solo career that’s sure to get fans talking. The groundbreaking post-punk bassist plans to release a live album that chronicles the 1995 tour that launched him as a solo artist following his time with the Minutemen and Firehose.

Ring Spiel Tour ‘95, a double album, captures a performance that took place at the Metro in Chicago on May 6, 1995. Remarkably, Watt’s backing band at the time included the likes of Pearl Jam’s Eddie Vedder and Dave Grohl, Pat Smear, and William Goldsmith of the Foo Fighters. Fans can preorder the album here.

Grohl, Vedder, and Smear reunited with Watt onstage at a 2011 Missingmen show in Seattle to commemorate their classic tour lineup with an encore set that included Watt’s “Big Train” and the Stooges’ “Fun House.” (SEE BELOW.)

Right now, Watt is out on the road playing with il Sogno del Marinaio (Italian for the Sailor’s Dream), which also features drummer Andrea Belfi and guitarist Stefano Pilia. Their Canto Secondo European tour began Sept. 28 in Utrecht and concludes Oct. 29 in Rotterdam.

Ring Spiel Tour ’95 tracklist:
01 Walking the Cow
02 Big Train
03 Formal Introduction
04 Against the ’70s
05 Drove Up from Pedro
06 Habit
07 Makin’ the Freeway
08 Chinese Firedrill
09 Piss-Bottle Man
10 Forever… One Reporter’s Opinion
11 E-Ticket Ride
12 Political Song for Michael Jackson
13 Coincidence is Either Hit or Miss
14 The Red and the Black
15 Secret Garden
16 Powerful Hankerin’

Title: Ring Spiel ‘95
Artist: Mike Watt
Release date: Nov. 11, 2016
Label: Sony Legacy

Related Stories:


FBPO video interview with Mike Watt

FBPO interview with Mike Watt

Mike Watt to tour Europe with Cuz

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Please enter the CAPTCHA text