New release: The Stanley Clarke Band: Up

Stanley Clarke, "Up"The Stanley Clarke Band: Up

Legendary bassist releases upbeat, collaborative CD

By Jon Liebman
September 30, 2014

According to Mack Avenue Records, Stanley Clarke’s new release, Up, is considered by Clarke “to be the most energetic, rhythmic and upbeat album that he has ever done.” Clarke’s latest collection is almost equal parts electric and acoustic bass.

The tracks on Up feature guitarists Joe Walsh, Jimmy Herring and Paul Jackson, Jr.; drummers Stewart Copeland, Gerry Brown and John Robinson; keyboardist Greg Phillinganes; Phil Davis on synthesizer and keyboards; saxophonists Kamasi Washington, Doug Webb and Dan Higgins; vocalists Jessica Vautor, Natasha Agrama and Patrice Quinn; trumpeter Gary Grant and trombonist Andy Martin on horns; percussionist Lenny Castro; Nick Mancini on marimba; and the Harlem String Quartet with violinists Ilmar Gavilán and Melissa White, Jaime Amador on viola and cellist Matthew Zalkind.

Heavily influenced by Charles Mingus, Clarke pays tribute to the jazz icon with one of three solo compositions, “Bass Folk Song #13: Mingus.” On a more personal note, “Trust-Dedicated to Nana” is a piece dedicated to his daughter Nana [Natasha] and the last track, “La Canción de Sofia,” written for Stanley’s wife, is a live performance of an acoustic duet with Chick Corea, recorded in 2013 at the Kitara Hall in Sapporo, Japan.

Track List:

1. Pop Vigil
2. Last Train To Sanity
3. Up
4. Brazilian Love Affair – Dedicated To George Duke
5. Bass Folk Song #13: Mingus
6. I Have Something To Tell You Tonight
7. Trust – Dedicated To Nana
8. Bass Folk Song #7: Tradition
9. Gotham City
10. Bass Folk Song #14: Dance Of The Giant Hummingbird/Bass Folk Song #15: Eleuthera Island
11. School Days
12. La Canción de Sofia

Label: Mack Avenue Records
Release Date: September 30, 2014

Up is available here:
Stanley Clarke, "Up"Stanley Clarke, "Up"


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Please enter the CAPTCHA text