News-Level 42 to Release Re-mastered Recordings

Level 42, Mark KingLevel 42 to release re-mastered recordings

Frontman, bassist Mark King excited to head up own Level 42 label

By Mindy Rochwerg
October 16, 2014

Following the release of their Sirens EP in 2013, on October 27, Level 42 will release, on its own label, re-mastered and expanded editions of their original Polydor Records LPs – Staring at the Sun, True Colours and Standing in the Light.

According to the band’s website, Staring at the Sun and Standing in the Light feature a 2nd disc of B-sides and rare mixes and True Colours is in the form of a one-CD expanded edition.

As expressed by tcelectronic, bassist Mark King brought “the concept and sound of slap bass to the masses and provided tons of inspiration for the following generations of slap bass wizards. So it is safe to say that not only is Mark King an innovative musician in general – he is also a true slap bass extraordinaire.”

King recently talked to Gordon Barr of Chronicle Live about Level 42 owning its own label:

“Although I’ve only done the Level 42 stuff, that I’ve been cataloguing, it’s exciting to think that in the next year or so I might come across some young talent that needs a break and I can see what I can do. It would be nice.

“I’ve got two artists on the label, Level 42 and me, but I’m, not very happy with me,” he laughs.

“So I might have to drop me! That would be ironic. Schizophrenia to a whole new level – I don’t understand myself artistically or financially, get out of my office. Haha.”

Track listings

Level 42, Standing in the LightStanding In The Light (2-CD Deluxe)

 Disc: 1

  1. Micro-kid

  2. The Sun Goes Down (Living It Up)

  3. Out of Sight, Out of Mind

  4. Dance On Heavy Weather

  5. A Pharoah’s Dream (Of Endless Time)

  6. Standing in the Light

  7. I Want Eyes

  8. People

  9. The Machine Stops

  10. Micro-kid (Single Version)

  11. Can’t Walk You Home (Edit)

  12. Micro-kid (Dub Version)

 Disc: 2

  1. Micro-kid (Remix)

  2. Can’t Walk You Home

  3. The Sun Goes Down (Living It Up) (12″ Extended Version)

  4. Out of Sight, Out of Mind (Extended Version)

  5. Micro-kid (Specially Remixed Version)

  6. Standing in the Light (Extended Version)

  7. Micro-kid (Remix)

  8. The Sun Goes Down (Living It Up) (Upfront Mix)

  9. Micro-kid

 Level 42, True ColoursTrue Colours (Expanded)

  1. The Chant Has Begun

  2. Kansas City Milkman

  3. Seven Days

  4. Hot Water

  5. A Floating Life

  6. True Believers

  7. My Hero

  8. Kouyate

  9. Hours By the Window

  10. The Chant Has Begun (Powermix)

  11. Hot Water (Master Mix)

  12. The Chant Has Begun (Unique Mix)

  13. Hot Water (Remix)

Level 42, Staring at the SunStaring At The Sun (2-CD Deluxe)

Disc: 1

  1. Heaven in My Hands
  2.  Don’t Know Why

  3. Take a Look

  4. Over There

  5. Silence

  6. Tracie

  7. Staring at the Sun

  8. Two Hearts Collide

  9. Man

  10. Gresham Blues

  11. Three Words

  12. Heaven in My Hands (7″ Version)

  13. Tracie (Single Version)

  14. Silence

  15. Man

Disc: 2

  1. Heaven in My Hands (Extended Version)

  2. Take a Look (Extended Mix)

  3. Tracie (Extended Mix)

  4. Take Care of Yourself (Extended Version)

  5. Two Hearts Collide (Remix)
6. Starchild (Remix)

  6. Heaven in My Hands (US Remix)
8. Tracie (US Remix)

  7. Take Care of Yourself (Remix)

  8. Two Hearts Collide (7″ Remix)

  9. Heaven in My Hands (Original Version)

  10. Micro-Kid

Label: Level 42
Release date: October 27, 2014

Pre-order here


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Please enter the CAPTCHA text