Tim Commerford, RATM on 2018 Rock Hall ballot

Tim CommerfordTim Commerford, RATM on 2018 Rock Hall ballot

A slew of newcomers are up for consideration 

By David Sands
October 6, 2017

As a member of Rage Against the Machine, Tim Commerford will be up for consideration on the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame’s 2018 ballot. RATM is just one of a packed roster of first time nominees this time around, with Radiohead, Dire Straits, The Moody Blues, Eurythmics, Judas Priest, Kate Bush, Nina Simone and Sister Rosetta Tharpe also appearing as new additions. Returning as nominees are Bon Jovi, the Cars, the J. Geils Band, the MC5, the Meters, Link Wray the Zombies, Depeche Mode, LL Cool J and Rufus featuring Chaka Khan.

Rock Hall nominees are appointed each year by a nominating committee and then ballots are sent to a group of more than 900 historians members of the music industry and artists—including all living Rock Hall inductees—to vote on the winners. The public also gets a chance to voice their opinions through a Fan’s Ballot, which can be accessed at www.rockhall.com. According to the Rock Hall website, the top five vote-getters on the public poll will form one ballot, which is weighted the same as the rest of the submitted ballots. Voting continues through Dec. 5 with winners being revealed later in the month.

The induction ceremony for 2018’s winners will be held April 14 at Cleveland’s Public Auditorium and recorded by HBO for future broadcast.

Related Links:

Chris Squire Inducted Into 2017 Rock Hall
rock and roll hall of fame

Bassists Well Represented at 2015 Rock Hall Ceremony

FBPO Interview With Tim Commerford
Jon Liebman



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Please enter the CAPTCHA text