Verdine White talks Earth, Wind & Fire’s new Holiday album

Verdine White; Earth, Wind & FireVerdine White talks Earth, Wind & Fire’s Holiday album

Christmas collection is EWF’s first release in 8 years

By Mindy Rochwerg
October 13, 2014

Earth, Wind & Fire’s new holiday album, aptly titled Holiday, will feature such seasonal classics as “Joy to the World” and “Jingle Bell Rock,” as well as songs inspired by EWF classics “Happy Feelin’” (“Happy Seasons”) and “September” (“December”).

When asked by Tom Bowker of the Broward/Palm Beach New Times why EWF decided to do a Christmas album, bassist Verdine White replied, “Sony Records asked us to do one. We came in at number one in presales on Amazon last week. That’s a good indication that we’re in the right place.”

Bowker also asked Verdine about where he draws the line on reverence versus irreverence when he puts his own spin on holiday standards. Said Verdine, “You just listen to the song. Then you’ll see what kind of room you have on that.”

Track list

  1. Joy to the World
  2. Happy Seasons
  3. Oh Come All Ye Faithful

  4. Winter Wonderland
  5. What Child Is This?
  6. Away In a Manger
  7. The Little Drummer Boy

  8. Every Day Is Like Christmas

  9. The First Noël
  10. Sleigh Ride
  11. Snow
  12. Jingle Bell Rock

  13. December

Label: Legacy Recordings (Sony Music Entertainment)
Release date: October 21, 2014

Order Holiday here:
Earth, Wind & Fire: "Holiday"

Related post:

Funk/Fusion Bass, by Jon Liebman

"Funk/Fusion Bass" by Jon Liebman features a foreword by Verdine White

  • 8

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Please enter the CAPTCHA text